Local, News

Prof Graham Barrett makes inaugural Ophthalmologist Power List Hall of Fame

Australian ophthalmologist Professor Graham Barrett has been named as one of 10 in the inaugural Ophthalmologist Power List Hall of Fame.

The Ophthalmologist magazine’s Power List Hall of Fame, which launched on 4 August 2023, honours ophthalmologists and scientists whose impact on the field will last beyond their lifetimes.

Ten world-renowned ophthalmologists have made the inaugural Hall of Fame list this year, which also includes Israeli ophthalmologist Dr Anat Loewenstein, USA’s Dr Carol Shields, Dr Emily Chew, and Dr George L. Spaeth, along with Japan’s Professor Shigeru Kinoshita who will be presenting at the upcoming RANZCO Congress.

The Hall of Fame will be an annual event, and each subsequent year will see five new figures inducted.

Barrett is perhaps best known as ophthalmic innovator, helping develop the world’s first foldable IOL implanted in 1983, the Barrett Toric Formula and Calculator, as well as the Rayner RayOne EMV, the first and only available IOL optimised for use with monovision.

Barrett currently serves as a Consultant Ophthalmologist at the Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital and the Lions Eye Institute. He is also a Clinical Professor at the Centre for Ophthalmology and Visual Science at the University of Western Australia and has served on the boards of several international and highly regarded ophthalmology societies. He has also sat on several industry editorial boards, serving as the editor of the EyeWorld Asia-Pacific publication.

The WA ophthalmologist co-founded of the Australasian Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons in 1995, serving as its president for over 25 years. Plus, he served as president of the Asia Pacific Association of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons from 2000 to 2015 and was instrumental in the development of its annual meeting into the pre-eminent society focused on cataract and refractive surgery in the Asia Pacific region.

For his work, Barrett has previously received the Norman Green Medal, awarded by the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists, the APACRS Gold Medal, and the José I. Barraquer Lecture and Award by the International Society of Refractive Surgery.

Recently, he was recognised in the 2022 Queen’s Birthday Honours, receiving the title of Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

Earlier this year, several Australian ophthalmologists were listed among the top 100 in their field globally in the 2023 Power List, also compiled by The Ophthalmologist magazine, with Adelaide’s Dr Ben LaHood becoming Australia’s youngest ever nominee.

Sydney’s Professor Stephanie Watson and WA ophthalmologist Professor David Mackey made this year’s list too, along with New Zealand’s Professor Helen Danesh-Meyer who was named in the top 20, and Professor Mingguang He who has affiliations with the Centre for Eye Research Australia and The University of Melbourne.

More reading

Rayner launches RayOne EMV Toric in Australia

Australian ophthalmologists make 2023 Power List

Fred Hollows Foundation members and Monash professor receive Australia Day Honours

Send this to a friend