Australia's Leading Ophthalmic Magazine Since 1975

     Free Sign Up     

Australia's Leading Ophthalmic Magazine Since 1975

     Free Sign Up     
News, Events

Associations herald O=MEGA19 as a success

24/07/2019By Callum Glennen
Optometry Victoria South Australia (OV/SA) and the Optical Distributors and Manufacturers Association (ODMA) have declared the inaugural O=MEGA fair a success, thanks to both high attendance and positive feedback.

O=MEGA19’s organisers announced that more than 3,000 people visited the event across three days, which included more than 1,000 conference delegates, 600 masterclass delegates and 130 exhibitors.

OV/SA CEO Mr Pete Haydon said O=MEGA19 represented a coming together of both industry and the profession.

“We’re very pleased that everyone enjoyed themselves and that the event worked well. We think O=MEGA is the future of conferencing for our sector, and we’ll be back better than ever in 2021.”

Pete Haydon
Pete Haydon
“We think O=MEGA is the future of conferencing for our sector, and we’ll be back better than ever in 2021”
Pete Haydon, OV/SA

ODMA CEO Ms Finola Carey said O=MEGA19 brought positivity back to optics.

“We united the entire industry under one roof. Everyone has left feeling energised and optimistic for the future. Our joint venture has been a resounding success for the benefit of the industry.”

Replacing the Southern Regional Congress and ODMA Fair, O=MEGA was conceived as a way to combine the trade and education elements of both events. OV/SA and ODMA plan to host O=MEGA every two years, with South Australia’s Blue Sky conference taking place every other year.

Winners of the many awards on offer were presented on Friday 19 July.

The recipients of the O=MEGA19 Stand Award, as selected by a panel of independent judges, were:

  • Maui Jim - Best Stand Large Custom
  • LBJ Optical - Best Stand Medium Custom
  • Proper Goods - Best Stand Small Pre Built

The categories of the O=MEGA19 Awards of Excellence were judged by a panel consisting of Professor Fiona Stapleton, University of NSW, Mr Steven Daras, course coordinator of TAFE Digital, Mr Richard Banks, independent optometrist, and Ms Lyndal Frollano, former creative director of Harper’s Bazaar Magazine. The winners were:

  • OPTICAL FRAMES WOMEN: Silhouette - 20 Years TMA Special Edition (Model 1589/75)
  • OPTICAL FRAMES MEN: Marchon Eyewear - Lacoste (Paris collection) – L2504PC
  • SUNGLASSES: Fritz Distribution – Far Fetched by Fritz Frame
  • CHILDREN'S FRAMES: Tomato Glasses - Tomato Glasses TKDC16
  • SPORTS EYEWEAR: Bolle - Shifter RX
  • LENS DESIGN: Rodenstock - Impression FreeSign 3 DNEye Pro
  • LENS COATING: VSP Optics - SunSync Elite
  • DISPENSING EQUIPMENT: Rodenstock - DNEye Scanner 2
  • ACCESSORIES: Good Optical Services – The Eye Doctor ‘Sterileyes’ Anti-Bacterial Eye Compress
  • PRODUCT ENVIRONMENT (POS, RETAIL): Stepper Australia - ZEISS Eyewear Architekt Kollektion Display KIT
  • CONTACT LENSES: VTi/CLC Aust. - NaturalVue (EtafilconA) Multifocal 1 Day




More reading:

Optometry Victoria congress takes new JV approach
“Fresh blood” helps reunite dispensing associations
Optometry Victoria South Australia completes historic amalgamation

Designs for Vision
Editor's Suggestion
Hot Stories



Subscribe for Insight in your Inbox

Get Insight with the latest in industry news, trends, new products, services and equipment!